Denison Public Library
300 W. Gandy
Denison, TX 75020
(903) 465-1797 Fax (903) 465-1130
Hours of Operation
|Monday/Wednesday/Friday||9 am - 6 pm|
|Tuesday/Thursday||10 am - 8 pm|
|Sunday||1 pm - 5 pm|
Annually Observed Holidays
(Library is closed on these days)
|New Years Day||January 1st|
|Memorial Day||Sunday and Monday|
|July 4th||Independence Day|
|Labor Day||Sunday and Monday|
|Thanksgiving||Thursday and Friday|
|Christmas Eve and Christmas Day||Christmas Eve and Christmas Day|
Registration for Library Card
Any resident of Texas may make application for a library card. A card is issued for a one year period of time, and is renewable. Once the applicant becomes 16, he/she will need to complete a new application card, and update it to an adult status without a fee.
The citizen must present photo identification and proof of current address. A $40 annual fee will be charged to patrons living outside of Texas. This fee is per household. Once purchased, any one residing in that household has full access to Denison, Sherman and Grayson Library's media.
Pager numbers will not be accepted as a home phone number.
A parent or guardian must make application for a person under 16 years of age. The parent must provide us with the child's social security number. They must also provide us their driver's license number. Parents must pay outstanding charges on their card and return all overdue items before obtaining cards for their children.
Replacement cards can not be issued until any outstanding charges are paid to all BARR libraries.
There is a $2.00 fee for replacing any lost library card.
A citizen must present his library card to check out materials or equipment, and submit interlibrary loan and courier requests. To insure a higher rate of accuracy, the card must be physically scanned. The card number used when checking out items must be presented when one is renewing items by phone. A driver's license will be accepted for checkout one time only.
The purpose of fines is to keep materials in circulation. Therefore, a payment for overdue or lost items is required before other items may be charged out. Partial payment is permissible for charges over $25.00
Materials may be renewed by phone with your library card number or by stating your first and last name.
Books may be secured from Grayson County College or Sherman Public Library through a courier service. A request is submitted to the Public Service Desk on the forms provided. Interlibrary loan requests are submitted to reference. The loan period is set by the library lending the books.
Reserves may be placed on books in our catalog. Title requests will be accepted for books not in the collection.
Employees are required to check out materials in the same manner as the general public. They are responsible for paying fines when incurred before the card is used again.
Limitations may be placed on the number of items which may be checked out on a particular subject. Special arrangements may also be made with the Public Services Department if necessary for various programs and projects.
Loan periods are as follows:
|Videocassettes & DVD's||3 days|
Two book depositories are available for returning books. One is at the front entrance of the library on the east wall; and the other is located at the primary circulation desk. These depositories are designed only for books. All audiovisual items should be returned to the lending/circulation desk.
Equipment may be checked out by adult cardholders for organizational use, for a specific event, or for use in the community room. The person checking out the equipment must present his/her own library card. The borrower is responsible for any damage which may occur during the time equipment is checked out. The library is not responsible for damage to personal property due to equipment failure.
Filmstrips, Audiocassettes and CD's
Filmstrips, audiocassettes and CD's are checked out through the Circulation desk. The citizen is liable for the full cost of lost or damaged items.
Citizens checking out videocassettes must be 16 years old and have a valid library card. This card must be presented each time videocassettes are checked out. Videocassettes are checked out for three days and may be renewed three times by phone or in person. Videocassettes may not be reserved in advance.
The citizen is fully responsible for the cost of repair or replacement of cassettes that are lost or damaged while in their possession. These cassettes may not be reproduced, used for commercial or theatrical distribution, or broadcast without prior written consent of the producer. They are meant for individual home use only unless they have public performance rights.
The library is not responsible for damage to a citizen's equipment from audiovisual material borrowed.
Northeast Texas Library System Videocassettes
Videocassettes may be ordered for both citizen use and library programs from the Northeast Texas library System (NETLS). There is a limit of three items per date for each show date. The loan period is normally 24 hours, but with special arrangements, may be longer. To schedule and check out videos, a citizen must present his/her valid library card and be at least 18 years old. These items must be returned to the library by the designated date along with a completed statistic sheet.
The borrower is liable for the full cost of lost items and items that are damaged beyond repair. A fine will be charged for items that are not picked up unless a notice of cancellation is received 10 days prior to the show date.
Lost and Damaged Books
The current retail price of the book plus a $5.00 processing fee will be levied for lost or completely damaged items. If the book is out-of-print, a charge for a similar replacement will be made. The current bindery charge will be made for the dust jacket. Donations of the books cannot be accepted in lieu of a payment unless it is a new copy of the same title. In order to receive a refund, the original receipt must be presented. Refunds under $15.00 will be available the next day. A check will be issued on the next processing date for refunds over $15.00.
Denison Public Library Charges
Charges will be levied for material not returned on time. There is a grace period for all items except videocassettes, equipment, and interlibrary loan books. Fines are charged for Sundays. The first and second overdue notices will be by mail. If there is no response, a letter is then sent by the Library Director. If there is still no response, a letter is sent by the City Attorney. Failure to respond to the City Attorney's letter will result in a summons. Kits consist of several pieces. Fines are charged for each barcoded item.
|Books and other items not otherwise designated||15¢ per item daily not to exceed the cost of the book, with a $10.00 maximum. We offer a 24 hour grace period.|
|Equipment||$1.00 per item daily
|Lost item or Damaged beyond Repair||Full cost of item and a $5.00 non-refundable processing fee|
|Lost or Damaged User Card||$2.00|
|Out of County||$40.00 annually|
|Internet access is available. It is free for residents living in Texas and out of state patrons who have paid the $40 annual fee.||There is a $10 fee for 3 months fee Texas and do not wish to pay the annual $40 fee.|
|No charge for usage during normal hours of operation||$25.00 per hour for usage
after the Library closes (non-profit organizations).
$35.00 per hour for usage after the Library closes (for-profit organizations).
|Microfilm/Microfiche Copies||25¢ each|
|Computer Printouts||25¢ each page|
|Laminating||10¢ per running inch (.30 minimum)|
|Card Laminating||$1.00 per item|
|Fax||50¢ a page|
Updated August 9, 2012